And so here I am…

Hello everyone! I’m so happy that you’ve made it over to my very first website. I actually cannot believe I’ve managed to (just about) figure out what I’m doing. You may have read a little bit about me on the ‘About’ page, but here I will try to give you more of a sense of who I am.

It is true, I am a mum, a wife and a writer, but I haven’t always been all three. It was only when my youngest started school two years ago that I actually had time and space to write. I’ve always wanted to write, but I found that the ideas just weren’t forthcoming. I’d often start something, and then lose faith in myself. That happened a lot over the years. But I always read, a lot. I read books that interested me, like the Divergent series by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins, the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris (later made into TV series True Blood), the Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer and many, many more. I realised that I loved Dystopian, Fantasy and Paranormal genres the most. So I read more books from those genres, some by well known authors and some by indie authors like myself.

And then, one day, almost serendipitously a character popped into my head. It sounds very cliché I know, but it’s absolutely true and my story evolved from there, or rather evolved around him (it was Bertram just in case you were interested).  Then, I started forming ideas and developing more characters in January of 2015. Every week,  I committed myself to writing on the two days when my kids were at school and I wasn’t working for a local authority in London until, eventually, a story began to emerge and The Soul Guide began to form.

Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t easy, not in the slightest. Some days I could barely write a paragraph and I’d be pulling my hair out wondering why I was even bothering. Then, on other days I was able to write more, a lot more and I would suddenly feel like a ‘proper’ writer.

One thing that never changed was my desire to finish this book. I was obsessed. I loved the characters, the world I was beginning to form and I wanted to do it justice. I could have given up, and there were plenty of times when I almost did, but something kept me going.  Maybe it was sheer stubbornness, or maybe it was because I wanted to show my kids that you can achieve your dreams if you work hard enough for them. Whatever it was, I am glad for it because ultimately The Soul Guide is finished and I will be pressing the publish button soon. So here’s to me (yes I have a glass of red wine in my hand) and here’s to you my future readers. CHEERS!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

