#travellingbook is on its travels!

You couldn’t be more surprised than me that I got a response from my #travellingbook experiment. Read my blog post about it HERE.

In fact, I was so surprised that I had a little blub in the middle of a children’s park surrounded by parents and their kids. They must have thought I was a little unhinged, my own kids certainly did!

If the truth be known, I thought that there was no way I would get any response, let alone for the finder to tell me about it, take some beautiful photos and then promise to pass my book on!

For those of you who haven’t already read the #travellingbook blog post, here’s a bit of background information.

On Tuesday 30th May I took a trip to Box Hill in Surrey with my mum and two children. We had a wonderful day roaming around, taking in the views, and *almost* getting lost in the forest.

The previous day I had already left two copies of The Soul Guide in two separate places in London as part of my #travellingbook experiment.

Before we left for Box Hill I went to collect my mum, who lives around the corner. She was with me the previous day when I left two copies of The Soul Guide in London. This time, I didn’t take a copy of The Soul Guide when I went to collect her. The day was a bit overcast and rain was forecast. I thought that it was possible if I left the book in the open it would get ruined and no-one wants to read a soggy book right?

BUT, something told me to go back home and pick up a book up anyway. I could decide once I was at Box Hill whether I would leave it behind or not, weather permitting and all that.

Of course, in the end, I did choose to leave a copy of The Soul Guide behind and I’m so glad that I did because the next morning I was updating my Facebook author page feed and was bowled over at receiving the following photos and comments:

Call it fate, call it serendipity, call it chance. All I know is, this lady, Wendy, appeared to be the perfect person to pick up the book and take it home. So, thank you Wendy for picking The Soul Guide up, for taking these beautiful photos, and for agreeing to pass on my book. I hope it has a long, and well-travelled journey. I will certainly be keeping an interested eye out, and keeping you all updated of course!

Out of the three books that I left this is the only response I’ve had so far. Maybe the other two books ended up in the bin, maybe they were picked up and the person who found them just aren’t into posting on social media (which is fair enough). Maybe the person who found it just isn’t into reading. Maybe both books are still waiting to be found? Maybe they are being read and the finder doesn’t want to post but will pass it on and the next person will? Who knows.

Sometimes all it takes is a crazy idea, a dash of chance, a spot of luck and the hand of fate. Whatever it was, I’m grateful for the response I have received so far, and am looking forward to seeing where The Soul Guide ends up next. #travellingbook #thesoulguideseries

Leave a Reply

