Leaving my day job…and I’m scared s**tless!

This week I will be leaving my day job (argh). Tomorrow will be my last day working for a local authority in London. After fourteen years I’ve decided to take a leap and concentrate on my writing for a while. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t just upped and left my job with no plans, I took voluntary redundancy so I have a cushion for a while until either my writing career earns me the money I need to continue writing or I have to head back into the land of CV’s, application forms and interviews. I hope I can do the former, but realise the latter is more likely. I’m nothing if not realistic.

What’s my immediate plan? Well, at the end of this week I shall be taking a week holiday with my family in Cornwall. I will be eating a bunch of ice-creams, seafood, swimming in the sea, building sand castles, seeing family and generally relaxing. This week I’ve finished my edits and Tortured Souls is going off for proof-reading and Beta reading shortly.

After that …?

Well, the onus really is on me now to really try and make my dream come true and to do that I need to keep on writing, keep on making contacts, keep on marketing, blogging, interacting with readers and so on… This was already a full-time job, and now I will soon have the time to really give it a bash.  I’ve given myself two months to really work at this writing lark and to set my dreams in motion.

I intend to spend all of September and October writing, concentrating on my new Sisters of Hex series. First I need to complete my Five Gold Rings story for the 12 Days of Christmas anthology I am a part of…. if you want to read a sneak peak click HERE

After that’s finished I am concentrating in earnest on the first three books of the Sisters of Hex series; Accacia’s Curse, Accacia’s Blood and Accacia’s Bite. With editing Tortured Souls I haven’t had as much time as I’d like lately to really get stuck in on these books, but with more time freeing up soon I cannot wait. Below are the covers, designed by my friend and fellow author / Flocker, Arizona X Tape. It probably isn’t hard to figure out what supernatural creature/s these books will revolve around.

 

In the meantime Tortured Souls – Book two of The Soul Guide series is being released on the 21st October. I am very nervous about this one, only because I really hope I’ve done the story justice. We’ll see once feedback starts to come in. I’m trying not to have a mini-meltdown thinking about it. This is the first time I’ve used Beta readers who aren’t my friends, so this experience will be a slightly terrifying one.  Not that my friends didn’t give me their honest opinions and point out flaws, quite the contrary, it’s just that opening yourself up for potential criticism is all the more difficult when its from people you don’t know. But, I am ready to take all comments head on to make Tortured Souls the best it can be.

For now, As the old adage says, “when one door closes another doors opens” and in this case I sure as hell hope it’s straight into a successful writing career. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

